The Rich History of Pioneer Park
In 1945, Lucy Woods Diehl (pictured above), a life-
Lucy Woods also decided that the land should be owned and operated by an association and not by individuals and so contracted the help of Frank Fingland, K.C. of Clinton for the incorporation. Fingland did this legal work without pay and is so considered to be one of the original contributors to the park.
In 1949, the original quarter acre plot was enlarged by a gift of parts of four lots donated by Phillip Rhynas in honour of his grandparents, Mr. & Mrs. John Ferguson and his mother, Margaret Grace Maude Ferguson Rhynas.
The original Directors chose the name Pioneer Park as a tribute to the early settlers of Bayfield. Some of the activities set up to raise funds for the park over the years, such as the Rummage Sale (originating in 1948) continue on to this day. In addition to film nights, outdoor plays and puppet shows in the first 30 years of the park, today the park hosts Saturday night entertainment and weddings among other activities.
To discover more of Bayfield’s history visit the Heritage Centre and Archives located on Heritage Main Street in Bayfield!
Parking and enjoying the view in Pioneer Park circa 1940’s
The view from the Pioneer Park circa 1981
Playing on the beach circa 1919
The banks of Pioneer Park circa 1925
Jumping off the pier circa 1950